Waking up “in an empty house” is the hardest part

I don’t know about you, but I always get this eerie feeling when I wake up in my house, realizing that no one’s home, and I’m all alone.

There’s this atmosphere, as if there is none – like living in a vacuum. And right when you wake up it’s almost like for a second, you can feel the emptiness. But aren’t we all alone? Aren’t we all just flies trapped inside of a glass jar?

Earlier today I was in the hospital lobby waiting for my brother to finish his checkup. And although I had to wait for about three hours I kinda…. I kinda enjoyed it. The people inside of the hospital were incredibly interesting to watch.

Twiddling my thumbs I watched as people, random people who don’t know each other,  were interacting. A little boy was playing with a dog – one that belonged to a woman who was also waiting; A gangster looking guy opened the door for a little old Chinese woman; and fireman were wheeling away an elderly man as they comforted him with kind words:

” Everything is going to be okay. “

It’s kinda beautiful, ya know? Astronomically speaking, when two Galaxies collide, it is said that the stars within that galaxy have so much space in between that once they combine, not one star will touch another. There’s that much emptiness.  It almost seems as though life should end up like that…

There’s so many people on this earth, and yet… we do smash into each other. We do collide – and we want to. Sometimes we do things out of our way, just to feel less lonely. Maybe that’s why we open doors: to know that someone is actually walking in.

So in the end, are we really alone? Are we all just dreamers waking up inside of glass jars? Yes…. but it doesn’t have to stay that way…

5 thoughts on “Waking up “in an empty house” is the hardest part

Leave a Reply

