Yesterday, I had my first “threesome”

When I was in High School, dating was impossible. My offbeat yet mature-for-my-age personality didn’t appeal to the majority of the High School girls – most of which wore Baby Phat sweaters and Juicy Couture bracelets. I fantasized about going to college and wondered if it would be swimming with better, higher quality fish. And you know what? It is.

High School Girls = Rubios

High School Girls = Rubios

College Girls = 3 Michelin Star Seafood restaurant, Le Bernadin

College Girls = 3 Michelin Star Seafood restaurant, Le Bernadin

Yesterday, after ditching one of my classes, I decided “Hey! What better way to spend my free time than to walk around campus and talk to nice girls?!” So I strolled through the campus, trying to give off a nonchalant vibe, whilst looking for half empty benches, with pretty girls sitting down. And just like fishing, it always takes awhile before you get any wiggling action…

I saw her: a cute, humble looking Asian girl, all by herself.

Me: Is anybody sitting here?
Her: Oh no, go ahead!

I sat there, thinking about what to say. Looking at her, observing and studying her body language to find out if there was anything I could comment on. Aha! Inside her hands was a barbie doll, dressed in a gown that she was sewing.

Me: Is that for a class?
Her: Oh! Yes! It’s for my speech class
Me: Oh wow, that’s pretty good!
Her: Thank you! I’m almost finished
Me: Are you trying to become a designer?
Her: Yes actually
Me: What kind of fashion are you interested in?
Her: Well…I want to get into couture
Me: Couture! Very nice! Who’s your favorite designer?
Her: John Galliano
Me: Haha! Me too!
Her: Really?! Oh my…

So we sat there, talking fashion, style, and plans for the future. I want to be an advertiser, and she wants to be a nurse/designer. She was smart, down to earth, and very pretty.

Her: I saw you walking earlier and I thought to myself  “Wow…he dresses so nice! I wish I could talk to him, but I’m too shy..”
Me: Awwww….. (By then, my heart had already melted, and was dripping out of my ass)
Me: Well I like your style as well. It’s simple and very sweet.
Her: Hmm…before, I used to care so much about what other people thought when it came to my sense of fashion. But now I don’t. I just wear what I want. This is me, and that’s all that matters.

And although her choice of a zebra print sweater, a pink corduroy jacket, and a purple skirt didn’t impress me, her answer did. She had this amazingly sweet vibe. And I could almost feel it. And it was beautiful. I sat there realizing how refreshing it was to meet a girl with such intelligence and grace. She was like a daisy that sprouted from the cracks of the sidewalk, available only to those patient enough to look.

Her: Well I better get going, my class is going to start soon…
Me: Oh yea, of course! It was nice meeting you Anna!
Her: Maybe I can get your contact information?
Me: ..uhh…Yea! Of course! May I see your phone?
Her: Oh sure!

Just as I was typing my number into her phone, a guy, who used to be in my Astronomy class, stood before us.

I think he was gay. But either way, he dressed very well.

I "think" he was gay. But either way, he dressed very well.

Guy: Heyy! Weren’t you in my astronomy class?
Me: Yea
Guy: Okay, don’t take this the wrong way but… You. Have. FLAWLESS style.
Me: Oh jeez, thank you so much!
Guy: (he turned to Anna) Like okay, this guy would always walk into class with the nicest clothes, shoes, and briefcase, and it was always so perfect!
Her: I know right! He dresses so nice!
Me: (oh god….) Pfft! You dress nicely too! I always considered you my stylistic competition. I was very jealous of your shoes!
Guy: Me?! Yea right! I dress okay I guess. But you dress amazing! You have the style, the attitude, and the hair!
Her: And he also has perfect posture!

Okay, at that point, I started to feel very awkward. It was like this massive orgy of compliments, mainly directed towards me! What’s going on! This is unhealthy for my ego! NO MAS! NO MAS! After a few more minutes of playing “make Ranier feel awkward”, he left.

Me: Well it was nice meeting you Anna!
Her: Nice meeting you too Ranier! (we shook hands)

Then she got up, picked up her bag, looked at me, and said the sweetest thing:

” Oh…. I’m sorry if my hands were cold…I hope I didn’t make you uncomfortable..”

My god… a girl who is that considerate, and that sweet, might as well be illegal – she was too amazing. She walked away, and for a second, she looked back at me, and smiled. And I smiled back.

I sat on the bench for awhile trying to regroup my thoughts. Then I tilted my head back,  looked at the sky, and said…nothing at all..

****************************************

It’s true: Nice girls do exist.

7 thoughts on “Yesterday, I had my first “threesome”

  1. HI, GUESS WHO! ❤

    OMG I CANNOT BELIEVE I FOUND YOU! I ABSOLUTELY LOVE LOVE LOVE your sense of style. Are you single? I have a friend that is interested in you. He is totally into your couture. We should totally grab lunch sometime and I'll introduce you guys. We'll talk soon! Much love. XOXO

Leave a Reply

