If you reply to a personal ad on Craigslist, does it make you a loser?

Admit it. You’ve done this before – at least twice.  First, you start off by harmlessly searching the Craigslist postings, looking for used cell phones and freebies. But then… you start to steer off the road and check out the personal ads. But tell me, oh dear reader, IS THAT SUCH A BAD THING?! Is it okay to find dates online?

" Asian male blogger seeks black girl? SIGN ME UP! "

I don’t know man, half of me says “online dating is LAME!” But the other half (my better half) says why not? What’s so bad about online dating? Why do we look down upon it?

As of now, I don’t need to look for dates on Craigslist because quite frankly, I have it good: I go to a diverse college where intelligent and beautiful women frolic around campus holding up signs that say “Hit on me”. To me, finding dates on Craigslist would be a downgrade. But that’s the thing! IS IT?

Whenever I go to the personal ads section, I always see a torrent of women from all walks of life. Girls who are down to earth, and girls who are down to fuck. Girls who want to be just friends, and girls who have no friends, but need some more. But maybe that’s why it felt so wrong: there were too many women.

Going on the Craigslist personal ads section almost feels as If I’m looking at a catalogue of women. It feels cheap, and lazy – like I’m shopping for my online Russian bride. There is no work involved. All you need to do is copy and paste a Haiku poem you stole off Wikipedia, and hit send. And in no time, your bride-to-be will be waiting for you at the Starbucks wearing “an orange sweater”.

Some of you may be saying “Well Ranier, what about those of us who don’t go to a college filled with beautiful dancing women? What if we stay at home most of the time? For us, online dating is the best option.” Now you see, this is a tricky situation: although I could just say “get off your ass and start talking to girls” it’s much more complicated than that. For some, the internet really is the only way to meet people.

What if you lived in a neighborhood infested with White people, and incidentally (and luckily), you only dated Asian men? How the hell can you find your Dragon prince when all you see are “Bills and Steves”? You gotta outsource! In that case, online dating IS a must.

So the question still remains: Is it okay to find dates on Craigslist?

My Answer: Yes!


From the American perspective, it’s ideal that we meet someone at school/work, get to know them, and then date them. But times have changed. The dynamics of dating are changing. A social interaction is a social interaction. It doesn’t matter if you meet face to face, or screen to screen- as long as a connection is made.

So why not take advantage of online dating? Who says dating has to be difficult? Meeting someone at the club is no different from meeting them online. We all have different preferences and online dating is merely a preference. It’s as basic as your preference for dark or milk chocolate – it only matters to you.

If you wanted something yellow and sweet, why didn't you just ask?😉

Times are changing. Online dating is a new level of dating that is just as reputable as regular dating. The only reason why we look down upon it is because we’re scared of what others will think. It’s ironic because the people who criticize online dating are also the people who never go out on dates.

The truth is, we’re scared. We’re scared that our friends and family will stigmatize us as “losers” who can’t find “real dates”. But you know what? I say FUCK EM! In the end, if going on Craigslist means you are that much closer to finding your true love, then DO IT! FUCK EM ALL! VIVA LA ONLINE DATING! AND VIVA LA CRAIGSLIST!

Hooray for the internet.




I’m willing to respond to someone’s ad.

All I need to do now is post my own…

3 thoughts on “If you reply to a personal ad on Craigslist, does it make you a loser?

  1. Where do you recommand where asian men hang out at the most online? I’am in a situation where Asian men don’t exist and i’m willing to move to a location for a try but untill then where is the best place Asian men go to look for a black woman like myself because these dating sites is not really helpful and I want my Asian King so I can be his ebony queen. You feel me?

Leave a Reply

