Redefining Asian Men in the media (NO MORE WILLIAM HUNG!)


Okay, as you obviously can tell, I’m very passionate about the issues surrounding Asian men. But one of the most prominent would be the fact that our image in the media, for lack of a better term, sucks. Why can’t women see the potential and sheer awesomeness of Asian men? Why can’t they see the THOUSANDS upon THOUSANDS of highly eligible Asian bachelors? Then I realized:

Famous actors are often seen as the representatives of their respective ethnicities. You might say something like “Wow, Black men are handsome! Have you seen Will Smith?!” It turns out that these men serve as the standard for what men of that color CAN look like. They serve as a “yes, we CAN look THIS good!” White men have Brad Pitt, Black men have Denzel Washington, Latinos have Mario Lopez, and Asian men have… Bobby Lee?

HOLD THE FUCK UP! Are you trying to tell me that this whole time, Women have been comparing us to Bobby Lee?! FUCK THAT! I think we need a more accurate comparison. So here’s a look at the Asian stars that you know, the ones you don’t, and who SHOULD be representing the Asian male community.


Round 1: Music

Our Current Representative: William Hung

Who Should be representing us: Taeyang

Taeyang completely shatters whatever notion you have about Asian male singers. This guy sings well, dances well, and he’s incredibly fit. In case you haven’t noticed, the singers in Asia (mainly Korea) have been gaining remarkable momentum. From 2pm to USA, these Korean boy bands have been gathering so many fans across seas that there are even 13 year old white girls making video blogs about how much they love their music.

And you know what that means? Those 13 year old (Asian male) loving white girls will grow up to be 25 year old (Asian male) dating white girls. Hooray for the future!😀

In a few years, posters of Taeyang will be hung inside the bedrooms of girls across the world. YAY!


Round 2: Youtube Stars

Our Current Representative: Lin Yu Chun

Who Should be representing us:
+ Gabe Bondoc + NigaHiga

Why: Don’t get me wrong, Lin Yu Chun is an AMAZING singer. Apparently, Lin was just signed by Sony and is now producing a CD. Hooray for him! But to use him as our representative is a lot like using Paul Potts and Susan Boyle as the representative for White people. Yes, they’re great singers, but not so great to put on the cover of Maxim…

Urbangermany (his real name is Son) and Gabe Bondoc are fucking AMAZING musicians. Racking in millions of views, these two can write their own songs, do covers better than the original, AND they’re handsome men. If you don’t believe me, just watch their videos.

Do I really need to speak on behalf of NigaHiga? Nigahiga is the number one most subscribed Youtuber…EVER! He has over 2 MILLION subscribers! The beauty is that Nigahiga makes his own videos by himself. His former competitor, Fred, was some irritating white boy who actually had a team of producers creating his videos. And also, Nigahiga is a good looking brother and he has quite a handful of groupies.

Other amazing Asian youtube stars: Passion, David Choi, Peter Chao, Wong Fu Productions, AJ Rafael.


Round 3: Sports

Our current representative: Yao Ming

Who Should be representing us:
Hidetoshi Nakata

Why: Yao Ming is a 7 foot 6 pile of Chinese manliness. However, most Americans only see the fact that he’s Chinese. But one of the rising stars in the sports world would be Soccer player (Yes, an Asian soccer player) Hidetoshi Nakata. Nakata played for various teams ranging from Rome to England. He is constantly regarded as one of the most stylish athletes in the world and he was also featured in a recent Calvin Klein ad.


Round 4: Martial Arts

Our Current Representative: Jackie Chan

Who Should be representing us:
Lyoto “The Dragon” Machida

Why: One of things that I absolutely love about Lyoto is the fact that his nick name is “The Dragon”. I mean come ON! That is the most ASIAN nick name you can possibly have! You might as well call yourself Goku! The reason why this is so important is because for years, Asians have been discouraged from associating themselves with such Asian nick names. To do so would be “too Asian” and thus, uncool.

But seriously though, Lyoto is a bad ass. He’s a confident man, good looking, respectful, and is one of the few fighters in MMA who actually retains his respect and discipline for the art of Martial Arts.


Round 5: Actors

Our Current Representative: Jackie Chan

Who Should be representing us:
Daniel Henney

Why: Uhhh…do…do I really need to explain why? Daniel Henney has got to be one of the most handsome men on the planet. Am I gay for saying this? No, I’m just a very supportive Asian guy who acknowledges the handsomeness of other Asian men! ..okay…. that was a bit gay…

But anyways! Daniel Henny is a great actor and an incredibly intelligent  gentleman. If you watch his movie “Seducing Mr. Perfect”, you will soon realize why I picked him: Women want to be with him and men want to become him. He’s suave, he’s smart, he’s talented, he can sing, he can play guitar, and he’s damn good looking.


Look, I’m not trying to say that you ladies should go out now, visit your local mall, hit on an attractive Asian man, go out with him for dinner, talk about your day, go back to his apartment, get intimate, show him your intimates, have a few babies, and live the rest of your life in heaven – I’m not saying that.

What I am saying is that you should look at the complete picture. Realize that there are millions of Asian men in the world and if you only choose to recognize the nerdy ones, then you’re ignorance is probably big enough to take you to the moon (which I heard was made made out of cheese!) So please…

To all the Black women, the White women, the Latinas, the Indians, and everyone in between, take the time to open your eyes. Be open! Take a chance – NAY! Dating an Asian man isn’t even taking a chance because you’re GUARANTEED to meet wonderful men! We’re intelligent, we know how to cook, we can obviously sing and dance, and we’re really really ridiculously good looking.

So the next time you’re at Baskin Robins 31 flavors and you’re trying to decide between Vanilla or Chocolate, take a step back, think for a minute, and walk to your local Asian Yogurt Shop – it’s better for you anyways😉

Yul Kwon, Winner of the T.V show Survivor, is also the owner of two Yogurt shops (Red Mango) in Silicon Valley


“Asian men are the new black”

– worthington

31 thoughts on “Redefining Asian Men in the media (NO MORE WILLIAM HUNG!)

  1. YAYY!!! You finally wrote a blog about this topic! Yessss! And man, did you write this well! I love how you split up guys for different areas of expertise. These guys are handsome and so charming, why haven’t I heard of them! They’re hiding underground! lol

    Well, in my opinion, I think that these Asian guys are our best kept secrets and it’s time to share them to the …damn media… *shivers* And it makes it even more so because of the negative perception of Asian guys. I really can’t believe that most people aren’t able to see that EVERY ethnicities has their studs, their duds, their charmers, and their jerks. It bothers me that people don’t think that an Asian man can have that ideal beauty as other men can as well. This is like history cycling itself again, but with another group of people. I’m excited to see rising Asian men in the media, Asian people are actually DESIRED right now in the media!

    • Ok. you’re an awesome writer and keen observer and this is going to sound nitpicky but “Daniel Henney” as our representative actor? Really? He’s most definitely NOT a great actor. Flat delivery of lines, among other things. Hot? most definitely.

      if you actually wanted a hot and really talented actor, you’d go somewhere along the lines of Takeshi Kaneshiro or Tony Leung (when he was younger).

      but anyways, i’m done griping. really like the blog. keep it up.

  2. Where has this Daniel Henney been all our lives? Woah. That’s a really beautiful man. Why isn’t he in American movies? It looks like he’s American (born in Michigan) from what I found online WTH?

    Do you think Asian woman have it easier? It sort of seems to me that as far as sex symbols go Asian women are viewed as sexy often times in American culture. There are some sexy Asian actresses, Lucy Liu, Sandra Oh, Yunjin Kim. Thoughts?

    • Daniel Henney was in x-men origins: wolverine and he’s also in an American show called “Three Rivers”.

      I think that Asian Women definitely have it easier. Despite being objectified and seen as mere sexual conquests (omg, I heard asian girls are SO tight! I wanna fuck one!) they are still seen more positively than Asian men.

      Asian women are more likely to be News Anchors (over Asian men), they are more likely to be accepted into white communities, and they are also more likely to receive better jobs than Asian men.

      I think it’s safe to say that America has a RAGING BONER for Asian women. They are seen as exotic and submissive (which is actually the exact opposite) and that pretty much makes them prime targets for upper class white males (who seek power and exotic “goods”).

  3. I just spent the most distracted 20 minutes of my week reading this post. Now I’ve got to clean up the puddle of drool I’ve created. For a straight guy, Ranier, you SURE know the sexy men out there.

    I just have one question: Who’s going to represent the Asian blogger community? May I recommend … YOU? Attractive, fashionable and a fantastic writer – ALL at remarkable the age of 20 years old! Honestly, I don’t know what I did before this blog came along.

    Also, you seriously need to get on Twitter so I can RT all your articles to death.

    • haha! Well I think that ALL people – whether they’re straight, gay, alien, male, or female- know when they see someone who is good looking. Besides, if it’s for the purpose of other Asian men, why not?🙂

      If I COULD represent the Asian blogger community, I would love to. It’s a topic that I feel so passionate about and writing about it always brews interesting emotions🙂

      And what is RT? haha.

  4. Homminah, homminah, homminah! I want a double scoop of each of those flavors. I used to date exclusively Asian: Indian, Pakistan, Nepalese. I would have happily dated other flavors had my experiences not been incredibly negative with the aforementioned men. I can’t remember the actor’s name but I believe he was Asian with some Dutch and starred in a TV series. He also starred in my fantasies until he opened his big, arrogant yap. That killed it. Side note – I think Bobby Lee is hot. I would also lick both actors from Harold & Kumar like crack-laced lollipops. Kal Penn’s brain is probably the hottest thing about him…okay, maybe it’s the lips.

  5. I love the pictures you found for this post! I have have so much Kpop on my mp3 player that it isn`t even funny! And it`s ok that you think Daniel Henney is attractive because he is.

    • That’s incredibly impressive. I think people nowadays are very skeptical when it comes to listening to Asian music, so I truly commend you.

      And being that I include pictures of mainly Asian men in this blog, I have to be able to pick out the good looking ones. But I’ve always liked Daniel Henney because his style reminds me of mine :o)

  6. Well, I have always been curious about Asian guys ever since I can remember, and now that I have been able to get a little closer to them through studying Japanese and hanging out with Asian friends I have discovered the Korean beautiful. But in my experience I find that Asian men don’t find us black women attractive. In the past I have tried to show interest but I have been proven time after time that there is no point. Unless your skin tone is the lighter shade of brown or you are white, forget it. They don’t even notice me!!! So I think that Asian men are perpetuating the same racism they complain about, especially the racism that comes from white women. They now begin to understand how it hurts to be rejected for reasons out of your control, such as skin colour, or hair type. Maybe Asian guys should think twice before turning their noses up at girls with darker skin tones.

    • The unfortunate reality is that ALL cultures around the world (Asians, Latinos, Whites, Blacks, Indians, etc) value lighter skin.

      Culturally speaking, a lot of people attribute skin color to a lot of things (which are all false). In the Asian community, skin color also matters. As a Filipino, I noticed that Chinese and Koreans will turn their noses up at us since we’re the darker of the Asians.

      I think that if you want to avoid this conflict of skin color, as bad as it sounds, just go for a darker Asian lol. Nowadays EVERYONE is in LOVE with Koreans. But what about Thai? What about Cambodians? What about Filipinos? I think that if you’re interested in Asian guys then, if you haven’t already, try and branch out to the other Asians.

      But of course, in the end, it’s not about specific countries, but rather the individual. And from my personal experience, EVERY SINGLE ONE OF MY [close] GUY FRIENDS is into black women. ALL OF THEM!🙂

    • honestly, Ken Jeong is a bitch.

      ALL he does is stereotypical/negative Asian characters. It’s his choice whether or not to take the job, but he does it anyways. He CONSTANTLY accepts roles as the goofy/annoying Asian guy. Whatever… I don’t even care about him. He should just go back to being a Doctor.

    • God, I hate the way Asian men are misrepresented in the media. Seriously, it annoys me to no end!

      In the end, when us lucky, open-minded chics score an attractive Asian guy, we’ll be the ones with the last laugh!

      Racer, to boot, did you ever notice how incredibly hot you are? I know that this is a little unprecedented, and that I’m a complete stranger, but I thought you might not mind too much… *shot*

  7. It sucks that the american culture dont show THESE kind of gorgeous asian guys! I mean come on, i can make a list of em that can go on for decades!!

  8. Pingback: I’ve been here… « assimilatedasian

  9. Thank u for including Taeyang, thats the 2nd ref i’ve seen of him, can i assume am speaking to a fanboy? Cuz i sure am a devoted fan girl (or noona fan as they’d call me in kpop land!)
    Slightly disappointed though, where’s Rain? And where on earth is Vaness Wu? Very worthy representatives in my humble opinion ; )
    Keep em coming sir!

  10. Daniel Henny is gorgeous, no one can say he’s not and though I love watching his stuff…mainly watching him but there are way better actors. I think a better representative would be Tony Leung (lust caution, infernal affairs etc..) or Andy Lau or even Daniel Wu. They’re all great actors who have mastered their craft but is not widely known in the U.S because they’re Asian and have turned down U.S. roles because they refuse to play the stereotypical Asian in U.S. films.

    • Lust, Caution? I loved that movie! It’s probably the best romance movie I’ve ever seen. What do you think about it?

  11. How about Takeshi Kaneshiro…he’s gorgeous, talented… an absolute hottie….By the way your site kicks ass and has inspired me to be more open minded about dating Asian men. I dated an adopted Korean guy and he was super cute, dressed very nicely and had good manners…obviously great Asian genes🙂 in spited of the American household he grew up in😉 Oh yes I’m Latin!

Leave a Reply

